read, write.

and not to an OutputStream.

[SORRY]

Had an odd Murakami craving (is that weird? ‘Hankering’ didn’t sound any better) last week so I spent three hours in a bookstore reading Blind Willow, Sleeping Woman – AHHHHHHHH. He is always masterful, but I think he absolutely outdoes himself with short fiction. His quirkiness – which can get just a little bit annoying – is PERFECTION here. I honestly don’t remember which Murakami novels I’ve read and which I haven’t – I do remember reading Kafka on the Shore at fifteen (which shocked my mother’s best friend – she called it an “adult book” haha. Age makes no sense. I certainly felt more grown-up at fifteen than I do now), and I am pretty sure I’ve read Hardboiled Wonderland and Wild Sheep Chase. BUT his short fiction !!!!! UNFORGETTABLE. Highly recommend The Elephant Vanishes and After the Quake too.

Other things I have read lately… as usual, lots of childhood re-reads (Longer Letter Later, for one! And I have been indulging in quite a lot of Judy Bloom, Beverly Cleary, Madeleine L’Engle heehee). A novel called Jewel by Bret Lott. Housekeeping by Marilynne Robinson. Every Good Endeavor, which was a thoughtful & timely gift.

But truth be told, I have been reading mostly code, and stackoverflow. womp womp

One thought on “read, write.

Leave a Reply

