Goodbye, Milton

Man shall not quite be lost, but sav’d who will,
Yet not of will in him, but grace in me
Freely voutsaft; once more I will renew
His lapsed powers, though forfeit and enthrall’d
By sin to foul exorbitant desires;
Upheld by me, yet once more he shall stand
On even ground against his mortal foe,
By me upheld, that he may know how frail
His fall’n condition is, and to me ow
All his deliv’rance, and to none but me.

Paradise Lost, III.173-182

Sort-of done with Milton after struggling through the fastest, most distracted paper I’ve ever written. (Though I realize I say this pre-emptively about every single paper I write.) But this time it’s real! It has way too many feels in it. Also, it sounds more like a sermon than a paper. But I will let it be, and gladly let these lines be my takeaway. What the heck is it saying? TULIP My failings are good for me because if not for my bruises I will never grasp how frail I am nor how strong God is.

I had to play instrumentals for hymns today. It always strikes me what a dangerous position performing can put me in. I managed to go a week without processing any of the words of three wonderful hymns because I was choosing between chords and wondering where to put in major sevenths. Great is Thy Faithfulness. May the power of that never be lost on me!

Leave a Reply

