freedom

So Jesus said to the Jews who had believed him, “If you abide in my word, you are truly my disciples, and you will know the truth, and the truth will set you free.” They answered him, “We are offspring of Abraham and have never been enslaved to anyone. How is it that you say, ‘You will become free’?”

Jesus answered them, “Truly, truly, I say to you, everyone who practices sin is a slave to sin. The slave does not remain in the house forever; the son remains forever. So if the Son sets you free, you will be free indeed.

John 8:31-36 ESV

Abiding -> Identity -> Conviction -> Freedom

This is why I grow so weary/numb of hearing the truth. Bible study prep can make me feel guilty when I don’t ‘get’ it, or am not ‘feeling’ it. On those nights I certainly don’t walk out of the lounge convicted and washed by the Word; I feel irritated and anxious (just one more area in which I’ve failed & am about to fail…). Maybe you can’t apply truth like a band-aid and expect instant regeneration and freedom (i.e. I have this clever insight now, so my issues are resolved). It has to sink deep, your feet have to walk in step with it and your arms must wrestle daily with it, and then it will begin to transform the way you live. Maybe this is why we are so forgetful of the truth even when that discussion was really, really good or that sermon was really, really convicting. We don’t need epiphany but to experience the power of the word as APPLIED in our daily lives

Leave a Reply

