home

If my heart was a house you’d be home has been stubbornly stuck in my head for a long time. (Did you know, the word home can be a noun, adjective, verb or an adverb? O:)

Amazingly, we are His house! Hebrews 1:6 “but Christ is faithful over God’s house as a son. And we are his house if indeed we hold fast our confidence and our boasting in our hope.”

And if the Holy Spirit lives in us then it follows that we are the place of His dwelling: 1 Corinthians 6:19-20 “Do you not know that your body is a temple of the Holy Spirit, who is in you, whom you have received from God? You are not your own; you were bought at a price. Therefore honor God with your body”.

I know this verse is often used to teach modest dressing and not committing sexual sins and etc. But I think that a honoring God with our bodies also entails taking care of this “temple”.

Yet so much in today’s culture, even Christian culture, there is this flippancy and heroism (which I am also guilty of) with regards to care for one’s body: “Oh I only slept 2 hours”; “oh I forgot to eat”; “oh I eat rubbish!” and so the ensuing onslaught of caring friends threatening other friends to do such-and-such if they do not take care of themselves, and why? Because you are important? Because other people worry? Because to be responsible for others we must first responsible for ourselves?

Well, okay, but first and foremost: We are not our own! Our bodies (and hearts/souls/minds but I guess that’s more blatant) are to be fit for the dwelling of the Holy Spirit. Do not disvalue or abuse what has been paid for by blood.

So note to self: get enough sleep.
“In vain you rise early and stay up late, toiling for food to eat–for he grants sleep to those he loves” Psalm 127:2

To go on with the song (since it’s STILL stuck in my head), circle me and the needle moves gracefully recalls this poem:

Circle me, Lord.
Keep protection near
And danger afar.

Circle me, Lord
Keep hope within.
Keep doubt without.

Circle me, Lord.
Keep light near
And darkness afar.

Circle me, Lord.
Keep peace within.
Keep evil out.

– David Adam

And well. If my heart was a compass you’d be North: “Lead me in the way everlasting” (Psalm 139:24)

I don’t know. I guess it just keeps striking me over and over that everything people look for in love and human relationships and sing about not having found can be found in Christ alone and in His love only.

Leave a Reply

