spun

Doing quiet time next to the washing machine has been interesting – imagine how the clothes must feel. Confused, probably, and frustrated. Being spun round and round endlessly in a damp, wet metallic container is not so fun. More like giddy and pointless.

But it’s the repetitive spinning motion that allows every corner of cloth to be exposed and treated, that makes sure every speck of dirt is cast away and every square inch made clean and dry. Each cycle the same motion but a step closer to being clean.

A bit corny perhaps, but this encouraged me a lot that night (morning?) – we seem to keep having the same struggles over and over again and seem to need to go through the same process a hundred times a day. But firstly, it’s not in vain; and secondly, it takes humility to swallow. Or to look at it another way, it teaches one humility and patience.

And of course, Psalm 51 (:

Cleanse me with hyssop, and I will be clean;
wash me, and I will be whiter than snow.

Let me hear joy and gladness;
let the bones you have crushed rejoice.

Hide your face from my sins
and blot out all my iniquity.

Create in me a pure heart, O God,
and renew a steadfast spirit within me.

2 thoughts on “spun

  1. MIAO!I haven’t seen you in more than 24 hours and I miss you already. I love this post of yours- washing machine and our many many cycles. Take care yea? Loveyou!

Leave a Reply

