attention

Today I watched television for the first time in months, maybe. Of course I watched silly drama serials (and alternated between making caustic assessments of the human condition and letting myself drown in all of the protagonists’ woes/get angry at their conspiring neighbours/scream when their childhood sweethearts pop out of nowhere and propose to them etc). But really, what struck me the most was all the advertising (yes, it’s been that long since I watched tv D:). And if I think about it, what companies are paying such ridiculous amounts for is my half-hearted attention. Wow. I think I will be devoting my attention to more worthwhile things in the future. Proverbs 23:26 “Dear child, I want your full attention; please do what I show you.” Not that I have gleaned a major life lesson from this, it’s just something that has never crossed my mind.

Meanwhile may I please encourage you to keep this link somewhere: http://www.elisabethelliot.org/newsletters.html! It is full of Godly wisdom, and the best sort of encouragement: truth.

Leave a Reply

