distraction

It is interesting how the english language has the word “distract” as a passive sort of verb – the external element distracts the person, i.e. the person is distracted by something else. As if our attention falls prey to some enticing thing, sort of victimizing ourselves, when in actual fact we actively allow our minds to deviate from “whatever is true, whatever is noble, whatever is right, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is admirable” (Philippians 4:8).

I am honest here, right? Life is bad and I have managed to mess up practically all spheres of my life (mostly because I have been uncontrollably distracted) and I am too ashamed, or too proud (isn’t it curious how shame stems from pride? If there is no pride there is nothing to be shamed) to keep myself accountable to someone.. bleh. Just bleh. Father, please be strong for me šŸ˜¦

Leave a Reply

