psalm 139:23-24

Search me, O God, and know my heart;
test me and know my anxious thoughts.

See if there is any offensive way in me,
and lead me in the way everlasting.

I love this prayer because it reminds me to take a posture of humility before the most high God (a reminder I am constantly in need of). When we pray we are presenting ourselves as an offering, not flagging God as a waiter: Give me peace oh and while you’re at it give me a better character. Hm could you also get me some friends, and discipline, and … I’m not saying it’s wrong to ask for or expect these things. But it’s all too easy to dress up a “shopping list” with prayer-lingo and hype ourselves into believing we’re praying great and holy prayers, claiming we want God’s glory when we’ve actually got some selfish agenda of ours buried so deep that we ourselves don’t see it. I once caught myself praying God ugh I’m so impatient please make me patient now, and promptly dissolved into laughter.

It’s all about the heart, and its position.

Also: there is something wrong when the Christian life is not about love.

Funny, I feel like I’m reliving April again. Ah well. 2 Corinthians 4:7 (:

One thought on “psalm 139:23-24

Leave a Reply

