reveille-toi!

Was all ready to scream and grumble about how frustrating it is to be surrounded by practically no one on the same level and coming from the same place and with the same beliefs and values but..

WAKE UP! Honestly, what am I becoming? How self-righteous can I get? Although walking away from gossip and frivolity is good and we are called to flee from youthful lust and idolatry and etc., we are called to FLEE FROM IT and not to JUDGMENTALLY DISDAIN PEOPLE WHO DO IT. As if I’m any better, any cleaner than them – the idea is preposterous. 2 Corinthians 1:21-22 “Now it is God who makes both us and you stand firm in Christ. He anointed us, set his seal of ownership on us, and put his Spirit in our hearts as a deposit, guaranteeing what is to come.” It is God who makes us and you stand firm in Christ. It is God. It is not my specialness, it is not my perfect obedience, it is not my discipline or my effort or my brain. How much clearer can that be?

1 corinthians 4:6-8 “Now, brothers, I have applied these things to myself and Apollos for your benefit, so that you may learn from us the meaning of the saying, “Do not go beyond what is written.” Then you will not take pride in one man over against another. For who makes you different from anyone else? What do you have that you did not receive? And if you did receive it, why do you boast as though you did not?”

Leave a Reply

